UBC Okanagan Global Message

This email is being sent to all faculty and staff at UBC's Okanagan campus on behalf of the Office of the Provost and Vice-President Academic Okanagan.

2020/21 Teaching Excellence and Innovation Awards

Dear colleagues,

Every year, UBC Okanagan celebrates the outstanding and innovative teaching taking place on our campus. We recognize the dedication and passion of faculty members who strive to inspire our diverse student body and prepare them for remarkable futures.

I am deeply grateful for how our faculty quickly adapted over the past year as we navigated new, virtual learning spaces and continued to deliver the high-quality education we are proud to offer as one of the world’s top-ranked universities.

It is with great pleasure that I announce the winners of the 2020/21 Teaching Excellence Awards and the 2020/21 Killam Teaching Prize. Recipients of these awards are exemplary role models who have made a significant impact on the culture of teaching and learning at UBC’s Okanagan campus.

2020/21 Teaching Excellence and Innovation Award recipients

Jannik Eikenaar

Jannik Eikenaar
School of Engineering

Jordan Stouck

Jordan Stouck
Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies


2020/21 Killam Prize recipient

Karen Ragoonaden
Karen Ragoonaden
Okanagan School of Education

I am also pleased to present the 2020/21 recipients of the Provost Award for Teaching Assistants & Tutors, which recognizes exceptional undergraduate and graduate teaching assistants and tutors for their contributions to academic life on our campus.

  • Clerissa Copeland, Irving K. Barber Faculty of Science
  • Robin Metcalfe, Faculty of Health and Social Development
  • Tina Olfatbakhsh, School of Engineering
  • Jasper Pankratz, Irving K. Barber Faculty of Science
  • Riley Petillion, Irving K. Barber Faculty of Science
  • Jo Scofield, College of Graduate Studies
  • Reza Sourki, School of Engineering
  • Sandun Tharaka Wanniarachchi, School of Engineering

We will be hosting a special online Teaching Awards ceremony to celebrate the achievements of UBC Okanagan teachers and mentors. This is a unique opportunity for our campus community to come together and recognize our incredible faculty.

I hope you will join me.

UBC Okanagan Teaching Awards Ceremony
May 17, 2021
3:30 - 4:30 p.m. 
Register Now

Once again, congratulations to all winners and I look forward to celebrating with you virtually on May 17.


Ananya Mukherjee Reed 
Provost and Vice-President Academic
UBC Okanagan